عن المشروع

الحماية الاجتماعية في مصر: التخفيف من الآثار الاجتماعية والاقتصادية لوباء COVID-19 على العمالة الغير منتظمة هو مشروع بحثي متعدد التخصصات مقره الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة (AUC) وممول من مبادرة البحوث والابتكار في مجال الأوبئة وما بعد الاوبئة في الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة.

 

الهدف من المشروع هو إنتاج المعرفة القائمة على السياسات القائمة بدورها على التجربة فيما يتعلق بالتغييرات الممكنة في سياسات الحماية الاجتماعية استجابة لجائحة COVID-19 في مصر. من المتوقع استمرار تأثير الجائحة على الاقتصادات العالمية والإقليمية والوطنية على المدى الطويل حتى بعد انتهاء الجائحة. ما يبدو أنه ركود عالمي، لم يسبق له مثيل منذ فترة الكساد الكبير، أصاب مصر والمنطقة العربية بشكل عام من خلال انخفاض أسعار النفط ، وانخفاض في الدخل من السياحة ، وانخفاض تدفقات الاستثمار.

تتطلب هذه التحديات على المدى القصير والمتوسط ​​تغييرات في السياسات والمؤسسات. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن الوباء والتدابير المتخذة لمكافحته توفر سياقا مهاما لمعالجة بعض المشاكل العميقة وطويلة الأجل في مجالات السياسات ذات الصلة بالصحة العامة والوقاية وتوفير الرعاية الصحية والأمن الوظيفي والحماية الاجتماعية والتدخلات الجندرية.

 

يحلل المشروع الارتباط ما بين العوامل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية ونتائج الرفاه. يصف العوامل المترابطة التي تحدد المخاطر ونقاط الضعف فى ما يتعلق بالحماية الاجتماعية. يركز المشروع على المحددات الاجتماعية وظروف الحياة اليومية. والأهم من ذلك، فالمشروع يقترح مسارات للمستقبل.

 

وبالتالي يسلط المشروع الضوء على تأثير الأزمة على العمالة غير المنتظمة وأسرها التي تضررت بشدة من الأزمات النابعة من انتشار جاذحة COVID-19.المشروع يقيم فعالية بعض السياسات والتدخلات التى تم اعتمادها في مصر في ضوء COVID-19. ويقترح سياسات وتدخلات على المدى القصير والمتوسط ​​والطويل لضمان استفادة مصر من نظام قوي للحماية الاجتماعية.

 

مخرجات البحث هي ملخص تنفيذي للمشروع وأربع أوراق سياسات تركز علي:

 

أ) إعادة التفكير في الأمن الوظيفي في ضوء جائحة COVID-19

ب) التخطيط الاقتصادي الكلي للحماية الاجتماعية

ج) الصحة العامة والوقاية في ضوء قانون التأمين الصحي الجديد

د) التخفيف من حدة العنف المنزلي القائم على الجندر.

 

يجمع المشروع فريقًا مكونًا من 15 باحثًا كمحققين رئيسيين وزملاء باحثين وكبار الباحثين في مجالات الصحة العامة واقتصاديات التنمية والاقتصاد السياسي وعلم اجتماع العمل ودراسات النوع الاجتماعي وأنثروبولوجيا التنمية. فريق العمل استفاد من الخبرات الموجودة بالفعل ونتائج البحوث وقواعد البيانات والأطر النظرية من أجل اصدار تحليلات وتوصيات لتحسين أنظمة الحماية الاجتماعية في مصر. يمكن استخدام هذه النتائج لإثراء النقاش العام واتخاذ القرارات الحكومية ومشاركة المجتمعات المعرفية من الخبراء والأكاديميين.

لمزيد من المعلومات يمكن الاطلاع على صفحة المشروع على صفحة الجامعة الامريكية: https://fount.aucegypt.edu/Covid

 

"تُظهر نظرة أكثر تفصيلاً على هيكل المكونات المختلفة للحماية الاجتماعية أن حصة منافع المساعدة الاجتماعية ، في حين أنها الحصة الأكبر، انخفضت من 83٪ من إجمالي الإنفاق على الحماية الاجتماعية في السنة المالية 2014 إلى 67٪ في السنة المالية 2020."

ABOUT

Social Protection in Egypt: Mitigating the Socio-economic Effects of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Vulnerable Employment is an interdisciplinary research project based at the American University in Cairo (AUC) and funded by the Pandemic and Post-Pandemic Research and Innovation Initiative at AUC.

The aim of the project is the production of empirically-based policy-oriented knowledge with regards to possible and potential changes in social protection policies in response to the COVID-19 pandemic in Egypt. The impact the pandemic has on the global, regional and national economies will persist for some time even after it is over. What seems to be a global recession, unparalleled since the time of the Great Depression, has hit Egypt and the Arab region more generally through lower oil prices, curbed tourism and low investment inflows.

These challenges in the short to medium-term require policy and institutional changes. Moreover, the pandemic and the measures taken to counter it provide a ripe context to address some of the deep-seated and long-term problems in relevant policy areas like public health and prevention and health care provision, job security, social protection and gendered interventions.

The project analyzes the ways in which social, economic and political factors are associated with welfare outcomes. It describes the interconnected factors that determine risk and vulnerability. It mostly focuses on social determinants and the wider set of forces and systems shaping the conditions of daily life. More importantly, it suggest paths for the future.

The project thus highlights the impact of the crisis on vulnerable employees and their households who have been hit the hardest by the crises and assesses the efficacy of some of the policy interventions adopted in Egypt in light of COVID-19. It proposes policy interventions on the short, medium and long-term to ensure that the country is sustained by a robust social protection system.

The research outputs are an executive summary of the project and four policy papers that focus on

a)    Rethinking Employment Security in Light of the COVID-19 Pandemic

b)   Macro-Economic Planning for Social Protection

c)   Public Health and Prevention in Light of the New Health Insurance Law

d)   Gendered Mitigations of Gender-Based Domestic Violence.

The project brings together a team of 15 researchers as principal and co-principal investigators, research fellows and senior researchers from the fields of public health, development economics, political economy, labor sociology, gender studies and development anthropology.  The idea behind this task force is to capitalize on already existing expertise, research findings, databases and theoretical framings in order to generate analysis and recommendations to improve social protection schemes in Egypt. These findings could be used to inform public debate, government decision-making and engage with epistemic communities of experts and academics.

For further information you can access the project website on AUC page here: 

https://fount.aucegypt.edu/covid/

 

"A more detailed look at the structure of the different components of social protection shows that the share of social assistance benefits, while the largest share, decreased from 83% of the total spending on social protection in FY14 to 67% in FY20"